Spark! Annual Awards 2017 – The Winners

Anual awards were presented on Thursday 9th November 2017 at the Holiday Inn in Brentford. 

The evening started with some entertainment from Sandy Ratanangkool, Lulu August, Imaan Syed and Shivam Ladwa of Lampton School.


We also heard from Fasiha Nabi (Lampton School) who gave her Spark! Youth@Hounslow  talk.

We were delighted to welcome keynote speakers Steve Davis, Headteacher of Lampton school and Kathryn Baddeley, Head of CSR at Cisco UK & Ireland.


Secondary (Jubilee Cup) – Recognising secondary schools’ and community partners’ excellence in work-related learning projects, sponsored by Hounslow Chamber of Commerce.

Winner:  BP, nominated by John Cadogan of Logic Studio School. Presented to Masudur Rahman, Community Affairs Manager at BP, by Stephen Fry, Chief Executive of Hounslow Chamber.

Employees of BP are encouraged to take part in their volunteering programme, designed to benefit the local community. Volunteers give their time and effort to support students by conducting work experience placements, mentoring sessions and classroom activities in relation to STEM subjects.

John says that “the internship experiences have been life-changing for my students. They left BP with new-found levels of confidence, raised self-belief and more importantly with a higher level of aspiration”.

According to John, “The BP programme second to none and we at the Logic Studio School are fully indebted to him and BP for affording our students life-changing experiences and for improving their life chances.”

Also nominated: Barclays Life Skills and Milkround.

Work placement Company of the year – Recognising the employer that has excelled in their support of high quality and fair work experience or internship opportunities. 

Winner: Premier Inn, presented by Ruth Cadbury, MP.

Over the past year alone Premier Inn has taken on more than 65 students for work experience and industry visits – and that’s just through Spark!

Working with branches from Heathrow to Waterloo, this award appreciates that in amongst the busy lives of Premier Inn employees, they always makes time for students.

Other nominees:

  • Allianz
  • BP
  • British Airways
  • Raka Mayor, GP Surgery
  • Met Police
  • Silverdale Kennels
  • Premier Inn
  • Kinderoos Nursery
  • Bambinos Nursery

Business Volunteer of the year – Recognising the industry volunteer (or team) that has “gone the extra mile” in supporting education-business partnership over the past year.

Winner: Leila Mehdizadeh, Allianz, presented by Maria Pedro, Deputy Lieutenant of Hounslow.

We know that Leila and her team have supported several schools independently but are delighted to award her this trophy for her continued support of Spark!’s work.

Leila has provided work experience for 15 students over the last year and gives detailed and helpful feedback for each of them. The feedback from schools and students is always great, and I know that Kate says Leila’s energy is infectious. She’s incredibly supportive of work in the community, and does this in addition to a demanding day job.

Other nominees:

  • Ian Blenkharn, Blenkharn Environmental
  • Natasha Bechmann, GSK
  • Judith Gregory, GSK
  • Ujwall Chaudhary, Premier Inn
  • Alex Zaliubovskaja, Greenford School for Management
  • Matthew Cox, Headmasters
  • Michael Bobrowicz, TFL
  • Masudur Rahman, BP

Teacher of the year – Recognising the teacher that has “gone the extra mile” in supporting education-business partnership over the past year.

Winner: Jon Juckes of Lansdowne School, presented by Councillor Sue Sampson, Mayor of Hounslow.

2018 will mark the 2nd year that Jon Juckes has worked with us on behalf of Lansdowne school – a special needs school in South London.

Jon works to arrange Industry Insight visits, Mock interviews and work experience, not only just once, but twice a year.

Linda Adams, Executive Headteacher, says: “Jon’s imagination and passion for ensuring our young people have the very best opportunities for developing independence and work skills, is second to none. There is not a week goes by without our students from Year 10-13 enjoying a taste of working life.”

Work Experience Student of the Year – Recognising the young person that has excelled in their work experience placement. Sponsored by British Airways.

Joint Winners: Izabel Jarman of Oasis Academy, Brightstowe (Bristol) and Callum Isaac of Logic Studio School. Presented by Mary Barry of BA.

Callum has undertaken a number of work placements with Gaia Technologies this year. His boss at Gaia said “Callum was extremely enthusiastic and motivated but this was backed up by hard work of an extremely high quality and level. Callum excelled in all areas”.

Nominated by Sansway House Day Nursery, they told us that Izabel was “a pleasure to have. She made good bonds with the children quickly learning all their names. Izabel was able to use good initiative while here”.

Other nominees:

  • Georgia Mackey and Amber Handley (Logic Studio School)
  • Connor Gilespie and Dominika Wos (Oasis Academy, Bristol)
  • Carmen Lates (Lampton School)
  • Shane McDonald (Lambeth Academy)
  • Edwin Zaimovic (Haverstock School)
  • Nazar Gudzuman (Hatch End High School)

Students nominated by British Airways:

  • Sean Brownlee of Bracknell and Wokingham College
  • Darshanjot Plahe of Rooks Heath College, Harrow
  • Shivani Godhania of Bentleywood High School

Apprentice of the year– Recognising the young person that has excelled in grasping the opportunity that an Apprenticeship has offered, sponsored by Shavata Brow Studios.

Winner: Rob Kiefer, nominated by Outsource Training while at Mediacom, presented by Shavata Singh.

Rob completed a Traineeship and was then successful in applying for the Mediacom apprenticeship.  He has taken up opportunities to deliver presentations, has applied himself to the work and this has been completed within timeframes set and he has always exceeded expectations. Feedback from Mediacom clients is that “they didn’t realise Rob was an apprentice – he was so professional”.

Other nominees:

Nominated by the London Borough of Hounslow:

  • Luke Mountain
  • Daniel Canning

Alan Bosson Trophy – celebrating STEM work in schools. Sponsored by GlaxoSmithkline.

Winner: British Airways and the Air League Trust, presented to Mary Barry of BA by Lucy Waterman of GSK and June Bosson.

Over the last few years, British Airways and The Air League Trust have worked together  to provide scholarships for young people.

The two-week gliding scholarship sees young people from all walks of life ‘have a go’ at flying a glider – some who have never even been on a plane/flight before!

The scholarship is designed to not only teach flying skills, but also build essential soft and transferable skills for the future, such as team work, communication and leadership.

Malcolm Gibbins Cup – celebrating overall excellence in Education-Business collaboration. Sponsored by Heathrow Airport.

Winner: Cisco Kids in IT, presented to Kathryn Baddeley of Cisco by Poorvi Patel of Heathrow.

Kids in IT has been running within Cisco for the past 5 years. The initiative sees students spend a day at Cisco, learning about working life in the technology sector. They impacted 1350 students from 22 different schools, supported by more than 40 volunteers.

Students often begin the day feeling that a career in technology doesn’t suit them but after the event 90% of students change their mind.

One of the reasons this really stood out to us is that the team devote their energies to this on top of very demanding day jobs.

From all at Spark! we look forward to celebrating again with you in 2018!

Kate, Ruby, Rachel and Jordan.