Past winners of the Spark! Partnership Awards


The Malcolm Gibbins Cup

Rebranded in 2017 to recognise overall excellence in Education-Business collaboration

2004 GlaxoSmithKline and Green Dragon Primary School

2005 Beavers Community Primary School, Barclays Bank and Groundwork

2006 Beavers Community Primary School, Thames Water and Groundwork

2007 Beavers Primary School, Bedfont Junior School, Cardinal Road Junior School, Crane Park School, Edward Pauling Primary School, Feltham Hill Junior School, Forge Lane Junior School, Lindon Bennett School, Oriel Primary School, St Lawrence Primary School, Southville Junior School, Sparrow Farm Junior School, Victoria Junior School, McDonald’s and Hounslow Council

2008 Army Welfare Service, 2nd Battalion Royal Fusiliers and UNICEF

2009 St. George West London and Green Dragon Primary School

2010 Abundance London, Belmont Primary School, United House and Beavers Community Primary School

2011 Ministry of Defence, Hansons Riverdale, Rural Activities Garden Centre and Beavers Community Primary School

2012 Sky Skills Studios

2013 Beavers Community Primary School and B.B.C. project

2014 Heathrow Primary Challenge

2015 Beavers Primary School and ‘DiscoverMe’

2016 Heathrow Primary School Coding Challenge

2017 Cisco Kids in IT Team

Jubilee Cup 

Recognising secondary schools’ and community partners’ excellence in work related learning projects, established with Hounslow Chamber of Commerce.

1990 Norwood Green Junior School and the Middlesex Chronicle

1991 Gumley School for Girls and Tarmac Construction

1992 St Mary’s Junior School and Exel Logistics

1993 Lampton School and SmithKlineBeecham

1994 Feltham Community School, Longford Community School and Tesco

1995 Chiswick Community School and Metropolitan Police, Chiswick Division

1996 Heston Community School and Brentford Dock

1997 Cranford Community School and BAA Heathrow

1998 British Airways and Brentford School, Chiswick Community School, Feltham Community College, The Green School, Gunnersbury Catholic School, Heston Community School, Hounslow Manor School, Isleworth & Syon School, Lampton School, Longford Community School and St. Marks Catholic School

1999 Benson & Forsyth and Brentford School for Girls

2000 The Green School for Girls and BAA Heathrow, Carillion Paving and the Green Corridor Partnership.

2001 Feltham Community College and IBM

2002 BSkyB, Isleworth & Syon School for Boys and the Green School for Girls, The Orchestra of St Johns, Brentford FC, Harlequins RFC and St Paul’s Church Brentford

2003 Isleworth & Syon School for Boys and Carillion.

2004 The Green School and Carillion

2005 Brentford School for Girls, BSkyB and The English National Opera

2006 Gunnersbury School and Army Careers

2007 Brentford School, Gunnersbury Catholic School, Isleworth & Syon School, The Green School, Brentford Chamber of Commerce, Brentford Community Council, Brentford High Street Traders Group, Grand Union Community Development, Holiday Inn, NEF, Watermans and Westplay

2008 West Middlesex University Hospital, Gumley House Convent School, The Green School and The Heathland School

2009 BSkyB Broadcast Operations, Gunnersbury School, Longford Community School, The Green School and The Heathland School

2010 Eton College Universities Summer School, Gumley House, School, Gunnersbury Catholic School, Lampton School, St. Mark’s Catholic School and The Heathland School

2011 BAM Construction, Chiswick School and Gunnersbury Catholic School

2012  Thames Water in recognition of “The Network Challenge”, nominated by partner school Rivers Academy

2013 Heathland School and Bloodhound SSC

2014 The Mosaic Enterprise Challenge, nominated by St Mark’s School

2015 Mace/Sky Project Office (Frank Spraggs), nominated by Brentford School for Girls

2016 Future Focus Employability Programme at Chiswick Park, nominated by Chiswick school

2017 BP, nominated by John Cadogan of Logic Studio School

Work experience/Internship company of the year

Recognising the employer that has excelled in their support of high quality and fair work experience or internship opportunities

2012  Sukhjit Sekhon of The Skylark Hotel, Hounslow, which provided an amazing 35 placements during the 2011/12 academic year

2012 Lifetime Service Award – A one-off award for 2012, was presented to Jim Richardson of Richardson’s Hardware Store, Feltham.  Jim has been ever-present in the provision of work experience placements through Spark! and still has a member of full-time staff, 14 years after their original placement, employed today.

2013 Orange Tree Theatre

2014 Hounslow Medical Centre

2015 Premier Inn, Bath Road

2016 Genesis Housing Association

2017 Premier Inn

Business volunteer of the year

Recognising the industry volunteer (or team) that has “gone the extra mile” in supporting education-business partnership over the past year

2007 P.C. Phil Beal, Metropolitan Police

2008 The Project Green Sky Team

2009 Mike Freely, Octink

2010 Debbie Webster, IBM

2011 Sonia Bruce, Sky

2012 Gemma McNeilis, Chiswick Park

2013 Sunny Gata-Aura, Bempah Osei and Charlotte Woods of Sky

2014 Joint winners: Cisco and the National Archives

2015 Dell – ‘IT is not just for Geeks’

2016 Thierry Ackermann, Ackermann Associates

2017 Leila Mehdizadeh, Allianz UK

Teacher of the year

Recognising the teacher (or school team) that that has “gone the extra mile” in supporting education-business partnership over the past year.

Awarded for the first time in 2013

2013 Gemma Adams of St Mark’s Catholic School, Jason Hermon of Lampton School and Jane Buck of Green Dragon Primary

2014 Will Berryman of Rivers Academy

2015 John Cadogan of Feltham Community College

2016 Chris Couch of The Heathland School

2017 Jon Juckes of Lansdowne School

Work experience student/Intern of the year

Recognising the young person that has excelled in grasping the opportunity that their work placement or Internship offered.

2012  George, Nick, Alice and Steph, GSK Project SEARCH interns

2013 Melina Namdar of Brentford School for Girls, nominated by Teapigs

2014 Sabine Enu-Kwesi of West Thames College

2015 Wiktoria Wilk of Skinners Academy

2016 Joint winners: Ozge Parin of Skinners Academy and Olamide Omisore of Kingston College

2017 Callum Isaac of Logic Studio School and Izabel Jarman of Oasis, Brightstowe

Apprentice of the year

Recognising the young person that has excelled in grasping the opportunity that an Apprenticeship has offered.

2012  Chantell Krishna

2013 Raphael Duncan, an apprentice at Cranford Community School

2014 Nathan McGee on the GSK Apprentice ship scheme

2015 Saadiq Cornelius at the London Borough of Hounslow

2016 Gurpreet Lotay at the London Borough of Hounslow

2017 Rob Kiefer at Mediacom, nominated by Outsource

Apprenticeship company of the year (2012 – 2016)

Recognising the employer that has excelled in their support for developing high quality Apprenticeships

2012  London Borough of Hounslow’s Shared Finance Department

2013 Brompton Bicycles

2014 Rent London Flat

2015 DHL Express

2016 London Borough of Hounslow